Robert J. Glushko Dissertation Prize Recipients

The 2016 recipients of the Robert J. Glushko Prizes for Outstanding Doctoral Dissertations/theses in Cognitive Science are:
Lang Chen, PhD thesis "White matter connectivity explains category-specific brain activation and impairment: A neurocomputational model of semantic cognition" from University of Wisconsin - Madison
Isabelle Dautiche, PhD theis "Weaving an ambiguous lexicon" from University of Paris
Jan Engelmann, PhD thesis "An empirical investigation of the evolutionary and ontogenetic roots of trust" from Max Planck Institute for Evolutionary Anthropology
Philip Pärnamets, PhD thesis "Observing and influencing preferences in time" from Lund University
Andrew Saxe, PhD thesis "Deep linear neural networks: A theory of learning in the brain and mind" from Stanford University

The 2015 recipients are:
Harm Brouwer - 2014 PhD thesis "The Electrophysiology of Language Comprehension: A Neurocomputational Model" from University of Groningen, précis
Da Cheong (Jena) Hwang - 2014 PhD thesis "Identification and Representation of Caused Motion Constructions" from University of Colorado, précis
Brenden Lake - 2014 PhD thesis "Towards more human-like concept learning in machines: Compositionality, causality, and learning-to-learn" from Massachusetts Institute of Technology, précis
Jessica Sullivan - 2014 PhD thesis "The Roles of Inference and Associative Learning in the Construction of Mappings Between Number Words and Numerical Magnitudes" from University of California - San Diego, précis
The 2014 recipients are:
Samuel Gershman - 2013 PhD thesis "Memory Modification in the Brain: Computational and Experimental Investigations" from Princeton University, précis
Celeste Kidd - 2013 PhD thesis "Rational Approaches to Learning and Development" from University of Rochester, précis
Victoria Leong - 2013 PhD thesis "Speech Rhythm Cognition : A Multi-Disciplinary Account" from University of Cambridge, précis
Ian Lyons - 2012 PhD thesis "A Sense of Order: Ordinality and the meaning of symbolic numbers" from University of Chicago, précis
Takao Sasaki - 2013 PhD thesis "Psychology Of A Superorganism" from Arizona State University, précis
The 2013 recipients are:
Douglas Knox Bemis - 2012 PhD thesis "Simple Composition During Language Processing: An MEG Investigation" from New York University, précis
Neil Cohn - 2012 PhD thesis "Structure, Meaning, and Constituency in Visual Narrative Comprehension" from Tufts University, précis
George Kachergis - 2012 PhD thesis "Mechanisms for Cross-Situational Learning of Word-Referent Mappings: Empirical and Modeling Evidence" from Indiana University, précis
Andrew Lovett - 2012 PhD thesis "Spatial Routines for Sketches: A Framework for Modeling Spatial Problem Solving" from Northwestern University, précis
Liad Mudrik - 2011 PhD thesis "Processing Visual Context Violations: The Roles of Attention and Awareness" from Tel Aviv University, précis
The 2012 recipients are:
Timothy F. Brady - 2011 PhD thesis "Structured Representations in Visual Working Memory" - précis
Jennifer L. Culbertson - 2010 PhD thesis "Learning Biases, Regularization, and the Emergence of Typological Universals in Syntax" -" précis
Nazbanou Nozari - 2011 PhD thesis "Is Comprehension Necessary for Error Detection? A Conflict-based Account of Monitoring in Speech Production" - précis
Steven T. Piantadosi - 2011 PhD thesis "Learning and the language of thought" - précis
Rachel Wu - 2011 PhD thesis "Learning (to Learn) from Spatial Attention Cues During Infancy" - précis
The 2011 recipients are:
Vera Demberg-Winterfors - 2010 PhD thesis "A Broad-Coverage Model of Prediction in Human Sentence Processing" - précis
Michael Frank - 2010 PhD thesis "Early Word Learning Through Communicative Inference" - précis
Chi-Tat Law - 2009 PhD thesis "Mechanisms of learning a visual motion discrimination task" - précis
Eric Mandelbaum - 2010 PhD thesis "The Architecture of Belief: An Essay on the Unbearable Automaticity of Believing" - précis
Edward Vul - 2010 PhD thesis "Sampling in human cognition" - précis

Back to Glushko Award main page