The David E. Rumelhart Prize

The David E. Rumelhart Prize is awarded annually to an individual or collaborative team making a significant contemporary contribution to the theoretical foundations of human cognition. The prize consists of a certificate, a citation of the awardee's contribution, and a monetary award of $100,000. The winner delivers a lecture and is honored at a reception at the annual meeting of the Cognitive Science Society.

The Rumelhart Prize is funded by the Robert J. Glushko and Pamela Samuelson Foundation, based in San Francisco. Robert J. Glushko is an entrepreneur in Silicon Valley who received a Ph. D. in Cognitive Psychology in 1979 under Rumelhart's supervision. Previous winners of the prize are listed below.

Geoffrey Hinton
Richard M. Shiffrin
Aravind Joshi
John R. Anderson
Paul Smolensky
Roger Shepard
Jeffrey L. Elman
Shimon Ullman
Susan Carey
James McClelland
Judea Pearl
Peter Dayan
Linda B. Smith
Ray Jackendoff
Michael I. Jordan
Dedre Gentner

More information about the Rumelhart Prize, including links to biographies of the previous winners is available at The David E. Rumelhart Prize website. And a Rumelhart Prize medal video is here.