CogSci 2018: Madison

July 25 – July 28th, 2018


Prizes and Awards

Rumelhart Prize

Sponsored by the Robert J. Glushko and Pamela Samuelson Foundation.

The David E. Rumelhart Prize is awarded annually to an individual or collaborative team making a significant contemporary contribution to the theoretical foundations of human cognition. The Rumelhart Prize winner will receive his/her award at the conference and present an award talk. 


Marr Prize

Sponsored by The Cognitive Science Society.

The Marr Prize, named in honor of the late David Marr, will be given to the best student paper at the conference. The Marr Prize includes a cash award of $1000 (USD). All student first authors are eligible for the Marr Prize for the best student paper. Authors who graduated within the last 6 months and are no longer students are also eligible if the work being reported was conducted entirely while the first author was a student.


Computational Modeling Prizes

Sponsored by The Cognitive Science Society.

Four prizes will be awarded for the best full paper submissions that involve computational cognitive modeling. The four separate prizes will represent the best modeling work in the respective areas of: perception/action, language, higher-level cognition, and applied cognition. Each prize includes a cash award of $1,000 (USD). The prizes are open to researchers at any level (student, post-doctoral fellow, research scientist, faculty) from any nationality. Any form of computational cognitive modeling relevant to cognitive science will be eligible, including (but not limited to) neural networks, symbolic models, Bayesian models, dynamic systems, or various hybrids. If your full paper involves computational cognitive modeling, be sure to indicate its eligibility when you submit your paper.


Glushko Dissertation Prizes

Sponsored by the Robert J. Glushko and Pamela Samuelson Foundation.

Up to five Robert J. Glushko Dissertation Prizes are awarded annually to recognize young researchers for outstanding dissertations in cognitive science. The Glushko Prize winners will receive their awards at the conference and present their research in an award symposium. 


Student Travel Grants

Sponsored by the Robert J. Glushko and Pamela Samuelson Foundation.

Up to $10,000 (USD) will be awarded to undergraduate and graduate students for travel support to attend the Conference. Any student who is first author on a full-length paper to be presented at the conference is eligible. Awardees will be selected on the basis of need and submission quality, with an effort to achieve a broad representation among academic institutions. Student first authors can indicate whether they want to be considered for the grant as part of the submission process. After paper acceptance decisions have been made, selected first authors will be contacted by the Conference Awards Chairs.

Graduate students should also consult the ‘News‘ page for additional travel funding opportunities.