Awards of the Cognitive Science Conference

Marr Award

The Marr Award, named in honour of the late David Marr, is given annually to the best student paper at the Cognitive Science conference.
The Award is sponsored by The Cognitive Science Society.

A list of previous winners include:

2000- Eliana Colunga
2001-Sam Scott
2002-Sourabh Niyogi
2003-Chen Yu
2004-Florencia Reali
2005-Matthew Tong
2006-Elizabeth Baraff Bonawitz
2007-David Landy
2008-Michael Frank
2009-Jennifer Misyak
2010-Hyowon Gweon
2011-Brendan T. Johns
2012-George Kachergis
2013-Nimrod Dorfman
2014-Anna Coenen
2015-Tiffany Doan

CogSci2015 Prizes

The winners of the 2015 Computational Modeling Prizes are:

Perception and Action: Judith E. Fan, Daniel L. K. Yamins and Nicholas B. Turk-Browne: Common object representations for visual recognition and production

Language: Yang Xu, Terry Regier and Barbara Malt: Semantic chaining and efficient communication: The case of container names

Higher-Level Cognition: Nisheeth Srivastava and Ed Vul: Attention dynamics in multiple object tracking

Applied Cognition: Peter Krafft, Robert X.D. Hawkins, Alex Pentland, Noah Goodman and Josh Tenenbaum: Emergent Collective Sensing in Human Groups

Since 2008, the IES Prize for Excellence in Research on Cognition and Student Learning has been awarded to the best paper presented at Annual Conference of the Cognitive Science Society related to Cognition, Educational Practice, and Subject Matter learning. The hope is that this award will serve as a mechanism for building capacity for rigorous research at the intersection of Cognitive Science and Educational Practice.

2012 IES Prize for Excellence in Research on Cognition and Student Learning
Azadeh Jamalian, Gestures Alter Thinking About Time
Michael Ramscar, How children learn to value numbers: Information structure and the acquisition of numerical understanding
Daniel Oppenheimer, Fortune Favors the Bold (and the Italicized): Effects of Disfluency on Educational Outcomes
G. Tanner Jackson, Assessing Cognitively Complex Strategy Use in an Untrained Domain
Ron Salden, Worked Examples and Tutored Problem Solving: Redundant or Synergistic Forms of Support?