Prize Selection

Nomination, Selection and Award Presentation

The deadline for the 2019 Rumelhart Prize is February 19th, 2018.

Each year, the selection committee will continue to consider nominations previously submitted. The committee invites updates to existing nominations as well as new nominations. Materials should be sent to the Chair of the Rumelhart Prize Committee:

Nominations should include the following materials:

  1. a three-page statement of nomination
  2. a complete curriculum vitae
  3. copies of up to five of the nominee’s relevant publications

The nominee may be an individual or a team, and in the case of a team, vitae for all members should be provided. The prize selection committee considers both the scientific contributions and the scientific leadership and collegiality of the nominees, so these issues should be addressed in the statement of nomination. Supporting letters may also be provided.

Prize Administration

The Rumelhart Prize is administered by the Prize Selection Committee in consultation with the Glushko-Samuelson Foundation. Screening of nominees and selection of the prize winner will be performed by the Prize Selection Committee. Scientific members (including the Chair) of the Prize Selection Committee will serve for up to two four-year terms. A representative of the Foundation will also serve on the Prize Selection Committee.

Prize Selection Committee

Richard Cooper (Committee Chair)
Department of Psychological Sciences
Birkbeck, University of London

Jeff Elman
Department of Cognitive Science
University of California, San Diego

Robert J. Glushko
Glushko-Samuelson Foundation

Tania Lombrozo
Department of Psychology
University of California, Berkeley

Jesse Snedeker
Department of Psychology
Harvard University

Josh Tenenbaum
Department of Brain and Cognitive Sciences
Massachusetts Institute of Technology

Former Committee Members

John Anderson
Department of Psychology
Carnegie-Mellon University

William Bechtel
Department of Philosophy
University of California, San Diego

Marlene Behrmann
Department of Psychology
Carnegie-Mellon University

Nick Chater (Committee Chairman)
Division of Psychology and Language Sciences
University College London

Allan Collins
Professor Emeritus
Northwestern University

Matthew Crocker (Committee Chairman)
Department of Computational Linguistics
Saarland University

Stanislas Dehaene
Cognitive Neuroimaging Unit
INSERM, The French National Institute of Health and Medical Research

Robert Goldstone (Committee Chairman)
Department of Psychology
Indiana University

Mark Liberman
Department of Linguistics
University of Pennsylvania

A. A. J. Marley
Professor Emeritus
McGill University

James L. McClelland (Committee Chairman)
Department of Psychology
Stanford University

Linda Smith (Committee Chair)
Department of Psychology
Indiana University

Paul Smolensky
Department of Cognitive Science
Johns Hopkins University